Sprucing up an older kitchen

My friend has an older home and a limited budget.  She asked me to help spruce up her kitchen.  Here is the before picture:

She came to my house and saw the greenery I did in the last post.  I explained how plants, especially with some height, can add drama and life to a space.  After a little shopping, she found a container at T.J. Maxx for $14.99 and a plant, a ponytail palm,  at Home Depot for $4.  She took the container to Home Depot to find a plant that would fit perfectly and give the “wow” factor I was looking for.

Here is how it looked in the same place:

(all photos by George Cavanaugh)

This entry was posted in Interior Decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sprucing up an older kitchen

  1. Erin says:

    I really like the ponytail plant! Thank you for listing the name of the plant. I’m terrible at gardening or anything to do with plants, and something like this would look great in my kitchen! I’m trying to spruce up the house without spending a ton of money.

Comments are closed.