A guest post written by my daughter Bliss

I recently purchased a house that was tragically stuck in the 80’s! One of the worst examples was in the entrance way. Considering this area is the first impression one sees of the home, it is important that it is warm, welcoming and sets the tone for the rest of the house.

The front door was the first task at hand. My mom and aunt suggested a glass french door. Major, major improvement!! It is bright and airy during the day and exudes a soft glow at night that looks so inviting. Since my doorway is covered I was able to use an interior French door from Lowe’s which cut way down on the cost! I decided to keep the existing grasscloth wallpaper since wallpaper has made a major comeback and it also provides nice texture. An antique wrought iron console that I already had, a new lamp from Pier One (under $100), cut green tropical foliage from my yard and Voila!! An entrance hall to be proud of!

The first two photos show how the entrance looked before I made the changes.

This next photo shows how the entrance looks now from the outside of my home.

This last photo shows how the foyer looks now.

This entry was posted in Interior Decorating and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A guest post written by my daughter Bliss

  1. Katherine Wilson says:

    Bliss, I am loving this blog……so interesting to see what you have done.

  2. Pat Nordmark says:

    What an amazing difference!

    • Peggy says:

      Thank you ! So glad you have found something you liked. This has been a fun wintery project for me. Keep looking new things each day. I like your comments. Peggy

  3. Mary says:

    You really did update the look!

    I’d love to see a picture of your new door!

  4. Raven says:

    This is amazing I really love your blogs. Keep up the great work

  5. Pingback: Remember my daughter’s entryway? | Southern. Country. Elegant.

Comments are closed.