The fireplace …


The painting is an orgrinal by Pang Jen. He is located in Boca Raton, Fl. He came to this country on a small fishing boat and has had many private showings of his work in art galleries through out including New York and Miami. He had studios in Boca and Deland, Florida.

Did you ever hear that everyone needs a cricket on their hearth for “good luck”. Now I don’t really believe in luck but it seems to bring about curiosity and always a “did you know you have a bug on your hearth” comment. Our cricket is older than I can remember and has made many moves with us. Once a Realtor we had listed our house with hurriedly came in the yard to find us exclaiming,”Do you have bug spray? There is a huge bug on your hearth”. We quickly explained he was part of the family.

(photo by George Cavanaugh)

This entry was posted in Home Decorating and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The fireplace …

  1. Maggie says:

    I thought it was supposed to be a praying mantis tied to the bed. Anyways, very cool!

  2. Sherri says:

    Love the cricket and the painting!

  3. David Godfrey says:

    Peggy is my sister, but still remains the best decorator I know. Her home is livable but as elegant as any Southern Living house.

  4. Kelly says:

    I’ve never heard about the cricket on the hearth but love idea. Might have to start looking for one.

    ___

    Kelly
    mytimepassages.com

  5. Oh, I just got a fireplace! Maybe I need a cricket too!

  6. Pingback: Hurricane Lamps | Southern. Country. Elegant.

Comments are closed.