Revealing the den …

This shows how the different pieces we’ve shown you work together. The painting is a focal point. It’s definitely not a traditional painting but it works because of the neutral fabrics and wall colors.

I’d really like you to notice how much furniture can actually work in such a small space. I have 4 chairs in that room and a sofa – I really needed seating space for family and company. You need to be careful with your colors and the scale of the room. Things are pretty crowded in some places. The chairs are in tight spaces but they work fine again because their colors and walls are neutral. (I brought in color with pillows and other accessories.)

I do need to move the chair if I need to open a drawer in the chest near the baker’s rack. I store things there that I don’t need often and it works out.

(photo by George Cavanaugh)

This entry was posted in Interior Decorating and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Revealing the den …

  1. cynthia says:

    Your room is lovely. and very inviting.

  2. Pat Nordmark says:

    It’s a lovely room. It seems so comfortable.

  3. Mary says:

    Such a pretty room – it has a warm, comfortable feeling while still looking light and airy. It’s beautiful!

  4. Mary says:

    Mary – I’m another Mary – Peggy’s helper. I’ve had the privilege of sitting in that room visiting with Peggy and you nailed it! That is the best description of her style I’ve heard yet! I always thought I’d never find my style because I love cozy & warm but I also crave bright & airy. Peggy mastered it in a way I don’t think I’ve seen anywhere else.

  5. Mary says:

    I keep coming back to view the photos over and over – every time I learn something different from studying the pieces themselves as well as the placement. Peggy, I notice your decision to keep the walls and trim neutral which really makes your pieces stand out. Would love to hear your thoughts on color and pattern or lack of it in regards to paint, upholstery and accessories. Even the use of neutral lampshades makes each individual base more prominent – I love your lamps! Mary, your bread looks outstanding and I am definitely going to give it a try! Please let George know his photo shots are great!

Comments are closed.