Kitchen Island

photo by George Cavanaugh


The kitchen in the townhome didn’t have an island; an island was something I loved and had grown used to in our last home.

I had this table that I wanted to use somewhere; I woke in the middle of the night with the idea to use it as an island. It ended up working perfectly! It has a marble top and wrought iron legs. I bought it in a garden center.

I placed an old oriental rug underneath.

It’s a little small for serious food preparation but I use it to hold something coming out of the oven and also to serve food.

Here’s another view to give you an idea of its height.

photo by George Cavanaugh

Don’t be afraid to try something unconventional when trying to work out solutions to the challenges your home presents.

This entry was posted in Home Decorating and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kitchen Island

  1. Mary says:

    Peggy, another outstanding piece! I have a real fondness for wrought iron. It’s a unique piece and fits perfectly in your kitchen. The lamb and rug add the finishing touch!

Comments are closed.