Transforming a small spec powder room

I have a small powder room off the front entrance. It was a spec room with a standard vanity and common fixtures. The room was so plain! I improved it by placing a small marble topped wrought iron table directly across from the toilet. It was purchased with a matching mirror and I used these two pieces at the end of a long hall in the last home we owned. Since there is a mirror over the vanity, I chose a framed hand lettered Bible verse with etching around the verse which was done by my daughter in high school. A small wreath hangs over the calligraphy with a tiny sweet angel.

on the other side of the window there are three pictures the same size as the one over the window placed one over the other.

Finally, a glimpse through the open door to show you how I changed out the standard white pedestal sink.
I found a marble topped mahagony vanity at a salvage place. The base is a demilune shape and it works well the console table and lamp to pull the room together. I hung a decorative framed mirror over the vanity and placed a stack of starched vintage linen towels to the side of the sink.

This last picture shows how close the console is to the toilet.

(photos by George Cavanaugh)

This entry was posted in Home Decorating, Small Spaces. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Transforming a small spec powder room

  1. Mary says:

    Peggy, another beautiful transformation! That console table is another item I have been in search of – small in size and wrought iron. Your taste is esquisite!

  2. Peggy says:

    Thank you, Mary. Keep looking for a table. I found this in an antique store and I have found they usually have a mirror to match, mine did. Not having room nor wanting another mirror in this small room I was able to use the mirror in a bedroom. I look forward to your comments.

  3. Andrea Vik says:

    Wow! So beautiful!

  4. Peggy says:

    Andrea, thank you for coming by my blog and for your comment.

Comments are closed.