Pine columns and a reader’s comment

Pine Columns

These columns were made for my former home out of pine wood with molding at top and bottom. An artificial arrangement was displayed on them flanking each side of the entrance to a den; it was stunning.

I have always used them to hold a large plant. My choice is a Boston fern as that is my favorite inside plant through out the winter months. I happen to have wonderful filtered light in my breakfast room. The columns could also be used for a statue or pottery.

Here is a closeup shot to see the detail in case you’d like to try to have some made for your home:

A comment from a reader
A reader mentioned that the paint cloth used in the “saving the couch” post would look better if it was ironed.

A great point was made and this reader obviously has a keen eye. Mary (she is the homeowner) and I have strong feelings about ironing. I like ironed pieces especially my top sheet and my pillow cases; they even have a little starch. I also iron my husband’s pajamas (and all his shirts are ironed of course.) My mother always ironed her linens and when I look in my linen closet, it gives me a good feeling.

Mary, however, is horrified by this. She thinks ironing sheets and pajamas is a total waste of time. I’ve noticed she uses cloth napkins most of the time and they are ironed but I’m quite confident that she didn’t iron them!

When she read this comment, she laughed and said the drop cloth was for three kids and a pizza and there was no way she was going to iron it (it would be taken off as soon as the kids left anyway). Additionally, she only has a sorry little ironing board that folds down from a closet and it couldn’t support a heavy 9 x 12 canvas cloth if she tried. I even wondered if the finish on the fabric would ruin my good iron.

I noticed around the internet that a lot of people are using these drop cloths to decorate especially for window treatments. What do you think? Do you iron everything? Would you iron these drop cloths? Has anyone tried? How did it work? Are there any other solutions? For example, we wondered if steaming would work.

(photos by George Cavanaugh)

This entry was posted in Accessories, Home Decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pine columns and a reader’s comment

  1. Katherine Wilson says:

    Ironing? I started out like Peggy, ironed even my husband’s white shirts…..but when I went back to work in my 50’s I quit ironing sheets/white shirts (still ironed pillow cases)…..then less/less as I am now 77……if I thot I had to iron that cover, the grandchildren wud have to quit coming…..but I like the idea of possibly using drop cloth for big window in our playroom.

  2. Mary says:

    Thanks for the support Katherine! I camped out on the couch for a few hours with the canvas drop cloth still in place and it was nice! The fabric isn’t scratchy or too stiff. I’m going to cut some panels and use them in a bedroom window. I know Peggy will want to write about it!! We’re going to paint that bedroom first so there is a lot of work to do first.

    The grandchildren are coming this weekend and they are going to love being able to hang out on the couch for a change!

  3. Peggy says:

    Katherine, I will have to admit sometime it is just the “top” my top sheet that gets ironed! And you and I are now starting with great grands so that drop cloth (unironed) might be a great purchase.

  4. hey, girls! I love to “iron” muslim and other linen looking material with spray starch and use my hands to smoothe it out! This still leaves a natural look but takes some of the big wrinkles out…
    LOVE

  5. Pat Nordmark says:

    I can’t remember the last time I plugged in my iron. It was last year…..

  6. Michelle says:

    LOL@ Mary! ITA…I sometimes go a whole week without seeing my iron. :-O

  7. Carol says:

    Thanks to your post about using canvas cloth, I purchased a 6 x 9′ size at Home Depot for $11.00 and washed and dried it (removed the creases nicely) and covered a small recliner in Christina’s bedroom where she constantly eats/drinks/spills on it. Worked out great ! Thanks for the tip.

Comments are closed.